Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content



At Minden, the curriculum content delivered by teachers has been determined by the Australian Curriculum.

The Australian Curriculum is designed to teach students to be confident, creative individuals and active and informed citizens. It sets the goal for what all students should learn as they progress through their school life.

Students develop knowledge and skills in eight learning areas:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Health and Physical Education (HPE)
  • Humanities and Social Sciences (HASS)
  • The Arts
  • Technologies
  • Languages (Years 5&6)

In the early years, priority is given to literacy and numeracy development as the foundations for further learning. As students make their way through the primary years, they focus more on the knowledge, understanding and skills of all eight learning areas.

Each year level aims to have all children meet the Australian Curriculum Achievement Standards by the end of the school year. See the Australian Curriculum website for further detail.

Curriculum Planning

Minden State School is fortunate enough to have a full time Curriculum Coach who oversees and assists teachers in planning quality units of work.

Our dedicated Digital Technologies specialist teacher has lessons with all classes and operates lunch-time clubs for students interested in designing and creating.